Kansas and Missouri are, sadly, among the lowest ranked states for vaccination rates.This is true of several different types of vaccines, but HPV vaccination numbers are particularly low.
The Kansas City Medical Society and the WyJo Medical Society have officially formed a Vaccination Task Force, led by Dr. Greg Unruh and Dr. Casey Willimann, to address and bring awareness to this issue.

On Friday, June 10th, the Task Force met at 8:00 am, at the offices of United Healthcare, at 10895 Grandview, Suite 200 in Overland Park (Corporate Woods). Dr. Melinda Wharton from the CDC joined the task force as a guest speaker.

If you would like to take part in the activities of the Vaccination Task Force, call Angela Bedell at (816) 531-8432.

Pictured above are those who were in attendance at the Vaccination Task Force meeting on June 10th.

Vaccination Task Force Members:

Greg Unruh, MD, KUMC (Task Force Chair)
Casey Willimann, MD, Liberty Clinic (Task Force Co-Chair)
Tony Sun, MD, United Healthcare
Dr. Eisinger, United Healthcare (not pictured)
Gregg Laiben, MD, Blue KC
Angela Myers, MD, Children’s Mercy Hospital
Andrea Bradley Ewing, MPA, MA, Children’s Mercy Hospital
James Wetzel, MD, Olathe Health System
Darryl Nelson, MD, HCA Physician Services
Melinda Wharton, MD, MPH Director, National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, CDC. Click here to see Dr. Wharton’s Bio.
Angela Bedell, MA, CAE, Executive Director/CEO, The Kansas City Medical Society

The following collaborators joined the task force at the meeting on June 10th:

Evelyn Naomah, Administrator, Leawood Family Care
Sheri Bell, Practice Manager, Cradle to College Pediatrics
Don Fausett, Administrator, Saint Luke’s
Amanda Applegate, Pharmacist, Balls Food Stores; KS Pharmacist Association
Phil Griffin, Bureau of Disease Control and Prevention, Deputy Director. KS
Cathy Sullivan, MO Department of Health and Senior Services
Randy Eaton, Director of Clinical Quality, Olathe Health System
Laura Connolly, MBA, MSN, RN, CPHQ, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Kansas Quality Director